Information for gamescom exhibitors

Advice on the colored wristbands

As every year, the majority of the exhibition space will be freely accessible to all family members even without wristbands. With these colored wristbands, Koelnmesse and gamescom exhibitors in collaboration with the USK (German abbreviation for “Entertainment Software Self-Regulation Body”) ensure that younger visitors only have access to content intended for their age group: Only visitors who have demonstrably attained the age of 12, 16 or 18 (confirmed via photo ID or health insurance card with photo) will receive the respective wristband and gain access to the appropriate areas. There are no exceptions. Parental accompaniment or consent forms do not replace proof of age.

The corresponding wristbands will help booth personnel identify which visitors have access to the different areas of any given booth. Additionally, the competent authorities of the City of Cologne will thoroughly monitor compliance with the German Children and Young Persons Act (JuSchG) at the fair. Prior to the fair the USK will be rating every game and will stipulate the corresponding age categorization depending on the content. The USK will function as contact for any queries regarding youth protection regulations prior and during the fair. The contact for questions concerning youth protection at gamescom is:

Marek Brunner
E-Mail: gamescom--at--usk.de

Please address any questions concerning tickets, reservations and directions to:
gamescom--at--visitor.koelnmesse.de

For exhibitors (B2C + B2B):

Koelnmesse has officially assigned USK (Entertainment Software Self-Regulation Body) as youth-protection authority at gamescom. This task encompasses the age rating of any kind of content that is intended to be exhibited, (all platforms including mobile apps, browser games, game portals as well as trailers, stage presentations and other contents). Additionally, USK serves as the primary contact for all gamescom exhibitors with regard to any youth-protection-related issues, whether prior to or during the fair itself.

As an exhibitor you are entirely responsible for ensuring that your booth and presentation conform to German youth-protection requirements under the provisions of the German Children and Young Persons Protection Act (“JuSchG”). Compliance is validated by the regulatory authorities during the fair. For the purpose of consistent and uniform implementation, Koelnmesse and USK have jointly adopted the regulations described below. These regulations apply for ALL exhibitors at gamescom, entertainment and business area.

What must be submitted?
Versions for all platforms including mobile games and browser games and self-running trailers or game-related stage presentations for exhibition at the fair. This applies to the public and business areas equally. Games and trailers to be shown exclusively in the 18+ area or in the restricted sections of the business area are not subject to classification. For purposes of transparency, however, and to avoid discrepancies on location (penal law relevance) it is recommended to submit these contents as well.

Content which has already been checked by the USK, corporate identity trailers and advertising without gaming content and gaming reference (e.g. for tools, middleware, hardware, e-commerce) does not have to be checked.

IARC Ratings
The designation of online games and apps in line with the IARC system is invalid outside of connected platforms and therefore cannot be used for retail versions or for exhibition of the product at gamescom.

When is the gamescom deadline?
All game content and trailers must be submitted to USK on data carriers, via FTP or cloud transfer not later than 07.08.2017, 3:00 p.m. All gamescom applications submitted in technically acceptable versions and before the deadline will receive a guaranteed result by the evening of 21.08.2017. Submissions received after the deadline will not be processed in time for gamescom and cannot be publicly exhibited.

Please do not collect several items for checking but forward them individually to USK together with the application form as soon as they are ready for presentation at the fair.  Early submission benefits you and us by providing an opportunity to meet the submission deadline. A subsequent rating of items for checking not submitted to USK by the above deadline is generally not possible. There will be no on-the-spot ratings issued in Cologne.

How to submit?
Please use our submission form which you can download here, and note that you request a review of content for gamescom where designated. The application must be sent to USK, along with the item for checking and documentation. In the case that information and game data it transferred digitally (FTP, cloud transfer), the application must be attached to the mail. The USK is happy to provide an FTP folder for the game to be digitally transferred.

The rating fees are based on the current cost structure.

Important for first-time submitters
Companies having content reviewed by the USK for the first time automatically fall under the rule of pre-payment. Please plan sufficient time for the clearance of all payments.

National pavilions
National pavilions in the business area which are presenting different prototypes, trailers and products should please submit an application with all contents and content lists for which an overall pavilion rating will be provided. In the case that individual contents deviate from the USK approval applied for, these may be removed from the collection and presented separately or submitted and reviewed separately.

Game demos
Please tell us precisely which content of your game can be played at the fair and the approximate time window for each player.

Use of the rating logo at the booth itself
gamescom has an area open to the general public (about 90%) where booths are accessible to the whole family regardless of age. At gamescom, content up to and including USK 12 can be presented openly. There are some rules, however, that must be respected:

All game stations must be clearly labelled (recommendation: minimum 3.5 by 3.5 cm) with the appropriate USK symbol. USK has appropriate templates available for download. Areas with games for 16- and 18-year-olds must also be clearly labelled as such near the entrance of the booth. The USK does not provide any stickers!

  • Content that is rated USK 18 or not rated by the USK may be presented only in areas accessible to persons aged 18 years and above. The exhibitor must guarantee that access checks will be conducted by booth personnel. Screens/displays must be positioned in such a way as to prevent younger audiences from watching.
  • Content classified USK 16 can be placed within an open booth but in a manner that ensures that the monitors/displays can be seen only by the active player or players, thus preventing younger audiences from 'watching'.
  • In the case of displays featuring USK 12-rated content, exhibitors must also ensure that younger visitors cannot actively play the games by themselves, although they are allowed to watch.
  • Content labelled USK 0 and USK 6 can be made accessible to all audiences without restrictions.

Compliance with all youth protection regulations can be achieved through the use of privacy screens. Access control is, of course, still necessary.

Upon admission, in accordance with the age on their photo ID/health insurance card with photo, the organizer (Koelnmesse) will provide visitors with three types of non-removable wristbands in colours corresponding to the colours of the respective USK stickers for ages 12/16/18 which support booth personnel in terms of age verification. Please note that the wristbands will also be handed out on Tuesday and that age checks must also be carried out on Tuesday (including in the business area!)

The competent authorities (the City of Cologne) will thoroughly monitor compliance with the German Children and Young Persons Protection Act (JuSchG) at the fair and take the appropriate legal actions in the event of violations of the law. Any violations will be punished by closing the trade fair booth of the responsible company and can result in substantial fines.

To prevent the latter, USK is available to help you resolve any questions, problems and ambiguities regarding youth protection.

Responsible USK employee:

Marek Brunner
Head of Test Department
Unterhaltungssoftware Selbstkontrolle (USK)
Torstraße 6 | 10119 Berlin - Germany
Phone: +49-30-2408866-0
Mobile: +49-1723069633
E-Mail: gamescom--at--usk.de

To top

Information on submissions

Here you can find all relevant information for publishers and business partners. 

read on

Introducing IARC



More information

Brochure

Our latest brochure includes full information and facts about the USK.

Download PDF

Ger Eng Turk


Order

USK film

USK-Film

An animated film explaining the age rating process.

watch

Informationen zur gamescom

Hinweis zu den farbigen Altersbändchen

Wie jedes Jahr wird der überwiegende Teil der Messefläche für alle Familienmitglieder auch ohne Bändchen frei begehbar sein. Mit den farbigen Bändchen sorgen die Koelnmesse und die gamescom-Aussteller gemeinsam mit der Unterhaltungssoftware Selbstkontrolle (USK) dafür, dass die jugendlichen Besucher nur das sehen, was für sie bestimmt ist: Nur Besucher, die nachweislich das Alter von 12, 16 oder 18 erreicht haben (Nachweis per Lichtbildausweis oder Krankenkassenkarte mit Foto) erhalten ein entsprechendes Handgelenksbändchen und haben damit Zutritt zu den abgetrennten Bereichen. Es gibt keine Ausnahmen, elterliche Begleitung oder Einverständniserklärungen ersetzen nicht den Altersnachweis.

Anhand der Farbe des Bändchens erkennt das Standpersonal, welcher Messebesucher in welchen Standbereich darf. Außerdem werden die zuständigen Behörden der Stadt Köln die Einhaltung des Jugendschutzgesetzes vor Ort auf dem Gelände verstärkt überprüfen. Die USK prüft vor der Messe alle Spiele und Trailer und legt je nach Inhalt die entsprechende Altersfreigabe fest. Gern steht die USK als Ansprechpartner im Vorfeld und während der Messe für Fragen zu den Regelungen des Jugendschutzes zur Verfügung. Ansprechpartner für Fragen rund um den Jugendschutz auf der gamescom:


Marek Brunner
E-Mail: gamescom--at--usk.de

Für alle Fragen die Tickets, Reservierung und Anreise betreffen wenden sie sich bitte an: gamescom--at--visitor.koelnmesse.de

Für Aussteller (B2C + B2B):

Die Unterhaltungssoftware Selbstkontrolle (USK) ist als offizieller Jugendschutzpartner der Koelnmesse GmbH umfassend beauftragt, auf der gamescom den Messe-Jugendschutz zu betreuen. Dies beinhaltet die Alterskennzeichnung sämtlicher Inhalte (alle Plattformen, inkl. Mobile Apps, Browsergames, Portale sowie Trailer, Bühnenprogramme o.ä.); zusätzlich ist die USK beim Thema Jugendschutz erster Ansprechpartner für alle gamescom-Aussteller, ob nun im Vorfeld oder während der Messe selbst.

Als Aussteller sind Sie nach den Vorgaben des Jugendschutzgesetzes vollständig dafür verantwortlich, dass Ihr Stand und die Präsentation den Anforderungen des deutschen Jugendschutzes entsprechen. Die Einhaltung wird durch die Ordnungsbehörden an den Messetagen kontrolliert. Für die konsequente und einheitliche Umsetzung hat die Koelnmesse gemeinsam mit der USK die im Folgenden beschriebenen Regelungen getroffen. Diese sind relevant für ALLE Aussteller der gamescom, B2C und B2B-Area.

  • Was muss eingereicht werden?
    Versionen für alle Plattformen einschließlich Mobile Games & Browsergames und selbstablaufende Trailer oder spielbezogene Bühnenprogramme, die auf der Messe gezeigt werden sollen. Dies gilt für Publikumsbereich und Business-Area gleichermaßen. Spielinhalte und Trailer, die ausschließlich im 18er-Bereich oder in den geschlossenen Bereichen der Business-Area gezeigt werden, sind nicht kennzeichnungspflichtig. Es wird jedoch empfohlen, diese im Sinne der Transparenz und zur Vermeidung von Unstimmigkeiten vor Ort (Strafrechtsrelevanz) ebenfalls prüfen zu lassen.

    Nicht geprüft werden müssen bereits durch die USK geprüfte Spiele, Corporate Identity-Trailer und Werbung ohne Spielinhalte und ohne Spielbezug (z.B. für Tools, Middleware, Hardware, e-commerce).

    Wichtig: Kennzeichen von Onlinespielen und Apps nach dem IARC-System sind außerhalb angeschlossener Plattformen nicht gültig und können damit weder für Retail-Versionen noch für die Ausstellung des Produktes auf der gamescom genutzt werden. Unabhängig von der erhaltenen Einstufung müssen diese Inhalte der USK für eine Prüfung nach dem Jugendschutzgesetz vorgelegt werden.

  • Wann ist die Deadline für die gamescom?
    Alle Spielinhalte und Trailer sind bis spätestens 02.08.2016, 15.00 Uhr bei der USK auf Datenträgern, via FTP oder Cloud Transfer einzureichen. Alle fristgemäß eingereichten gamescom-Anträge mit technisch reibungslos laufenden Versionen werden bis zum Abend des 16.08.2016 garantiert ein Prüfergebnis erhalten. Nach der Frist eintreffende Neuanträge werden für die gamescom nicht mehr bearbeitet und können nicht öffentlich ausgestellt werden.

    Bitte sammeln Sie keine Prüfgegenstände an, schicken Sie einzelne Prüftitel mit Anträgen sofort zur USK, sobald sie für die Messe fertig sind. Für die Chance zur Einhaltung von Fristen ist ein früher Einreichungstermin für Sie und uns ideal. Eine nachträgliche Kennzeichnung von Prüfgegenständen, die der USK bis zur obigen Deadline nicht vorgelegen haben, ist grundsätzlich nicht möglich. Es wird keine Vor-Ort Ratings in Köln geben.
  • Wie wird beantragt?
    Bitte nutzen Sie unser Antragsformular, das Sie hier herunterladen können, und vermerken Sie an dafür vorgesehener Stelle, dass Sie eine Prüfung von Inhalten für die gamescom beantragen. Der Antrag muss zusammen mit dem Prüfgegenstand und Unterlagen an die USK geschickt werden. Werden Informationen und Spieldaten digital übertragen (FTP, Cloud Transfer) muss der Antrag sich im Anhang der Mail befinden. Für die digital zu übertragenen Spiele stellt die USK gern einen FTP-Ordner zur Verfügung.

    Die Prüfgebühren richten sich nach der aktuellen Kostenordnung.
  • Was müssen Ersteinreicher beachten?
    Unternehmen, die zum ersten Mal Inhalte bei der USK prüfen lassen, fallen automatisch unter die Vorkassenregelung. Bitte planen Sie ausreichend Vorlauf für alle Zahlungsvorgänge ein.
  • Spieledemos
    Teilen Sie uns bitte mit, welcher Inhalt ihres Spieles genau auf der Messe gespielt werden kann und welches ungefähre Zeitfenster jeder Spieler haben wird.
  • Länderpavillions
    Länderpavillons in der B2B-Area, die verschiedene Prototypen, Trailer und Projekte präsentieren, reichen bitte einen Antrag mit allen Inhalten und Inhaltliste ein, es gibt dann ein einheitliches Pavillon-Rating. Sollten einzelne Inhalte vor der beantragten USK-Freigabe abweichen, können diese aus der Sammlung entfernt und abgetrennt präsentiert oder separat eingereicht und geprüft werden.

Verwendung der Kennzeichen am Stand selbst
Die gamescom hat einen offenen Publikumsbereich (ca. 90% der Fläche), dessen Stände generell altersunabhängig mit der ganzen Familie besucht werden können. Auf der gamescom können Inhalte bis einschließlich USK 12 offen präsentiert werden. Es gibt einige Regelungen, die dennoch beachtet werden müssen:

An oder neben allen Spielstationen ist gut sichtbar (Empfehlung: mind. 3,5 x 3,5 cm) der entsprechende USK-Sticker anzubringen. Entsprechende Vorlagen stellt die USK an dieser Stelle zum Ausdrucken bereit. 16/ 18er-Bereiche sind ebenfalls deutlich sichtbar neben dem Eingang zu kennzeichnen. Die USK stellt keine Sticker!

  • Inhalte mit dem Kennzeichen USK 18 bzw. ohne USK-Kennzeichen dürfen ausschließlich in nur für Personen ab 18 Jahren zugänglichen Bereichen präsentiert werden. Eine Zugangskontrolle durch das Standpersonal ist durch die Aussteller zu gewährleisten. Bildschirme/ Displays sind so zu positionieren, dass diese für jüngere Messebesucher nicht einsehbar sind.
  • Inhalte mit dem Kennzeichen USK 16 sind innerhalb der offenen Standgestaltung so zu positionieren, dass die Bildschirme/ Displays nur für den bzw. die aktiven Spieler einsehbar sind und ein „Zuschauen“ für jüngere Messebesucher ausgeschlossen ist.
  • Bei Displays auf denen Inhalte mit dem Kennzeichen USK 12 laufen, ist durch die Aussteller zu beachten, dass jüngere Besucher durchaus zuschauen, wenn auch nicht selbst spielen dürfen.
  • Bei Inhalten mit dem Kennzeichen USK 0 oder USK 6 sind keine Vorkehrungen beim Standbau zu beachten.

Sämtliche Jugendschutzvorschriften lassen sich auch durch den Einsatz von Privacy Screens erreichen. Eine Zugangskontrolle ist natürlich weiterhin notwendig.

Der Veranstalter (Koelnmesse) wird am Eingang die Besucher gemäß ihrem mit Lichtbildausweis/ Krankenkassenkarte mit Foto nachgewiesenem Alter mit nicht abnehmbaren Handgelenksbändchen analog zu den Farben der USK-Kennzeichen 12 / 16 / 18 ausstatten, welche das Standpersonal bei den Alterskontrollen unterstützen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Handgelenksbändchen auch bereits am Mittwoch ausgegeben werden und Alterskontrollen auch bereits am Mittwoch erfolgen müssen (auch in der Business Area)!

Die zuständige Behörde (Stadt Köln) wird die Einhaltung des Jugendschutzgesetzes vor Ort verstärkt überprüfen und bei Zuwiderhandlungen entsprechende rechtliche Maßnahmen einleiten. Im Falle von Verstößen drohen neben der Schließung des Messestandes Geldbußen in beachtlicher Höhe.

Auch um letzterem vorzubeugen, steht Ihnen die USK bei jeglichen Fragen, Problemen und Unklarheiten den Jugendschutz betreffend mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Verantwortlicher USK-Mitarbeiter:
Marek Brunner
Leiter des Testbereiches
Unterhaltungssoftware Selbstkontrolle (USK)
Torstraße 6 | 10119 Berlin - Germany
Phone: +49-30-2408866-0
Mobile: +49-1723069633
E-Mail: gamescom--at--usk.de

Nach oben

Informationen für Anbieter

Alle Informationen für Unternehmen und Antragsteller finden Sie hier.

weiter

IARC vorgestellt



Mehr Informationen

Broschüre / Elternratgeber

  

Download und Bestellung

USK-Film

USK-Film

In diesem animierten Film wird der Prozess der Alterskenn- zeichnung erklärt.

ansehen

USK im Gespräch


Presse

Hier finden Sie die aktuellen Pressemitteilungen der USK.

zur Presse

Wir unterstützen:



Mehr Informationen